Eighteenth Dynasty

   Posted by: Keith Payne   in

Eighteenth Dynasty

The Egyptian Renaissance and the Dynasty of Celebrities

1550 to 1295 BC

Period Seat of Power Factions Dating System
New Kingdom Memphis, Amarna The rival Solar Cults of Amun and Aten Shaw and Nicholson


The Eighteenth Dynasty marked a period of high culture, religious ideologies, political intrigue, and dynastic dramas.  The capitol is Memphis, with the religious center at Thebes, but the entire order is upset by Amenhotep IV, popularly known as Akhenaten, who changes the state religion and moves the capitol to Amarna.  His revolution is almost immediately reversed after his death.  Other luminaries include Ahmose I, Hatshepsut the Female Pharaoh, Tutankhamun, and Horemheb.

Name of Ruler Years of Reign Capitol
Ahmose I 1550 to 1525 BC Memphis
Amenhotep I 1525 to 1504 BC Memphis
Thutmose I 1504 to 1492 BC Memphis
Thutmose II 1492 to 1479 BC Memphis
Thutmose III 1479 to 1425 BC Memphis
Hatshepsut 1473 to 1458 BC Memphis
Amenhotep II 1427 to 1400 BC Memphis
Thutmose IV 1400 to 1390 BC Memphis
Amenhotep III 1390 to 1352 BC Memphis
Amenhotep IV (Akhenaten) 1352 to 1336 BC Amarna
Smenkhkare 1338 to 1336 BC Amarna
Tutankhamun 1336 to 1327 BC Memphis
Ay II 1327 to 1323 BC Memphis
Horemheb 1323 to 1295 BC Memphis